Zonal Organization

For ease of management and delivery of support to the National Scout Organizations (NSO), the Africa Scout Region is organized into 5 sub regions also known as zones namely; Eastern Africa Zone, Central Africa Zone, West Africa Zone, Southern Africa Zone and Indian Ocean Zone. The grouping of NSOs in the different zones is as follows:

Eastern Africa Zone
1. Burundi
2. Ethiopia
3. Kenya
4. Rwanda
5. Tanzania
6. Uganda
7. South Sudan

Potential members are: Djibouti, Eritrea and Somalia

Central Africa Zone
1. Cameroon
2. Chad
3. D.R. C
4. Gabon
5. Sao Tome & Principe

Potential members are: Congo Brazzaville, Equatorial Guinea and Central Africa Republic.

West Africa Zone
1. Benin
2. Burkina Faso
3. Cape Verde
4. Cote d`lvoire
5. Gambia
6. Ghana
7. Guinea Conakry
8. Liberia
9. Niger
10. Nigeria
11. Senegal
12. Sierra Leone
13. Togo
14. Guinea Bissau

Potential members are: Mali.

Southern Africa Zone
1. Angola
2. Botswana
3. Lesotho
4. Malawi
5. Mozambique
6. Namibia
7. South Africa
8. Swaziland
9. Zambia
10. Zimbabwe

Indian Ocean Zone
1. Comoros
2. Madagascar
3. Mauritius
4. Seychelles

Potential member is: Reunion Islands

Each of these zones is supported by a Zonal Desk Officer situated at the World Scout Bureau Africa Support Centre who acts as the first port of call and clearing house for the respective zone. They work in tandem with Africa Scout Committee Liaison Persons for each zone. They are:

1. Eastern Africa Zone: Mostaff Matesanwa - Manger, Adult Resources & Training
2. Central Africa Zone: Guy-Omer Banafai - Deputy RD & Director, Finance & Administration
3. West Africa Zone: Mary Waweru - Director of Operations
4. Southern Africa Zone: Jonathan Omondi - Manager, Youth Programme
5. Indian Ocean Zone: Jacques Sandrizi - Manager, Messengers of Peace Programme

The corresponding Africa Scout Committee Liaison Persons allocated to the various zones in line with business resolution 01/2009 of the 14th Africa Scout Conference held in Accra, Ghana are as follows:

1. Eastern Africa Zone: Mathias Wanyela
2. Central Africa Zone: Ayim Palamwe
3. West Africa Zone: Victor Atipaga
4. Southern Africa Zone: Winston Adams
5. Indian Ocean Zone: Rasoamahenina Sanda

Contact Information

World Scout Bureau Africa Support Centre
Rowallan National Scouts Camp
P.O Box 63070
00200, City Square
Nairobi, KENYA

Phone: (+254 20) 245 09 85
(+254 20) 387 34 36
(+254 728) 496 553
(+254 738) 945 346
Fax: (+254 20) 387 83 42
Email: africa@scout.org

Are you sure you want to delete this?
Welcome to Scout.org! We use cookies on this website to enhance your experience.To learn more about our Cookies Policy go here!
By continuing to use our website, you are giving us your consent to use cookies.